Kur declines appointment as MP in Warrap State

Kur declines appointment as MP in Warrap State
The Map of South Sudan Highlighting embattled Warrap State (photo credit: courtesy)

A senior politician in Warrap State has declined an appointment to the state legislative assembly.

In a letter dated November 18, 2021, Kur Bona Bol Abur, who was appointed as a member of parliament in Warrap State, turned down the offer, saying he could not serve in the state legislative assembly.

Abur said he already had a plan to go for further studies and that he could not serve two masters at the same time.

“This assignment has come at an inopportune time for me due to the plans I have already made for myself [to pursue] further studies and career development,” he said.

“Secondly, the work I am currently doing is contributing to enormous changes in the lives of the people and communities that I and my institution serve.

“These changes are key to the stabilisation of the country and supporting the transition to a democratic dispensation in which people will regain the power to elect their leaders,’’ he noted.

Kur added that his decision to follow his dream was the right path for his service to the citizens of the country.

However, he pledged his commitment to remain loyal to the leadership and the Revitalised Agreement on the Resolution of Conflict in South Sudan.

Kur was appointed as an MP representing the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) in the Warrap State Legislative Assembly.

States Assemblies

The legislative assemblies of Eastern Equatoria State, Warrap State, Jonglei State, and Northern Bahr el Ghazal State were reconstituted on November 17 in a presidential decree read on the state-owned South Sudan Broadcasting Corporation (SSBC).

This was after four other states had their assemblies reconstituted and members of parliament appointed on Friday, November 5, per the agreed representations of the peace parties.

Kiir also appointed speakers for the states’ assemblies and their deputies, except for Eastern Equatoria State.

Severino Maira Janus from SPLM-IG was appointed the speaker of the Eastern Equatoria State Legislative Assembly, while Maper Maper Maper from SPLM-IO was picked as the speaker of Warrap State, with Bona Bak Dhel as his deputy.

Amer Ateny Alier, who is from SPLM-IO, was appointed the speaker of the Jonglei State Legislative Assembly, with her deputy being Apotho Ojulu Okoth, from SPLM-IG.

In Northern Bahr el Ghazal State, Achol William Amuoi from SPLM-IG was appointed the Speaker and her deputy was Angelina Abraham Akon from SPLM-IO.

In his early decree to reconstitute four state legislative assemblies in Western and Central Equatoria, Lakes and the Upper Nile States, Kiir named the speakers of three states and their deputies, but only appointed a deputy speaker for Lakes State.

Wakila Charles from SPLM-IG was appointed the speaker of Western Equatoria State, with Simon Sebit Peter from SPLM-IO as her deputy.

The speaker of the Central Equatoria State Legislative Assembly has been appointed as Peter Wani Elia of the SPLM-IO, with Dr Salam Al Haj Baballah of the South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA) as his deputy.

Upper Nile State’s speaker is Chuol Dep Kier of the SPLM-IG, and his deputy is Pal Ruath Dup of the SPLM-IO. And the deputy speaker of the Lakes State Legislative Assembly was Ayiin Amel Adior from SPLM-IG as the speaker remained unnamed.