Gov’t to introduce three foreign languages in schools

Gov’t to introduce three foreign languages in schools
Minister of General Education and Instruction Awut . Deng Acuil. [Photo: Courtesy]

The government is set to introduce three foreign languages in lower classes in all schools across the country.

The decision comes after the Minister of General Education and Instruction Awut Deng Acuil signed a cooperation agreement with Turkey, Tanzania, and the Democratic Republic of Congo for the training of teachers and establishing a curriculum in South Sudan.

Speaking to media after the Council of Ministers meeting last Friday, the Minister of Information and Government Spokesperson Michael Makuei Lueth, said the agreement signed would allow the teaching of the Turkish, Swahili, and French languages in lower schools.

“Awut presented the cooperation agreements signed between the government of South Sudan and three countries of the Republic of Turkey, the United Republic of Tanzania and DRC,” he revealed.

Makuei said the cooperation agreement aimed to establish working relations with the Ministry of Education in Tanzania to develop curriculum and syllabus and training for Kiswahili language teachers.

He said it was important to teach the Kiswahili language in South Sudanese schools since the country has become a member of the East African Community, saying the Kiswahili language is the official working language in the region.

“So, this agreement was meant to develop a Kiswahili curriculum as well as training of teachers in Kiswahili and thereafter, there will be the development of the capacity building so that Kiswahili becomes part of the languages taught in the schools in South Sudan”.

Acuil also signed a similar agreement with the Republic of Turkey for the teaching of the Turkish language and the development of the curriculum, syllabus, and training of teachers.

The last agreement was with DRC which covered the idea of developing curriculum and training of teachers and preparing them to start tutoring the French language.

He said the three agreements were presented and explained thoroughly by the minister before being discussed and passed by the cabinet.

However, the official languages used in South Sudan are English and Arabic and they are also used for instruction in schools.

The transitional constitution of South Sudan 2011 allows the use of English and Arabic in offices and court verdicts.