Bright Stars kickoff CHAN 2023 preparation

Bright Stars kickoff CHAN 2023 preparation
Stephano Cusin leads a warm-up session for the provisional squad of South Sudan men’s national senior football team for CHAN 2023 (photo credit: SSFA)

The South Sudan men’s national senior team has begun training ahead of the 7th edition of the Total African Nations Championship, also known as CHAN 2023.

On Sunday, the Bright Stars’ head coach, Stefano Cusin, released the provisional 26-man squad for the CHAN 2023.

Mr Cusin believes that the earlier preparation will give players enough time to get to know one another.

“It is always good to start early preparation for such a competition, it helps boys to know themselves and understand each [more] than always being in a hurry. I think it is good for the players to be prepared for the tournament, ” Cusin stressed in a short interview with The City Review.

The Bright Stars started the preparations on Monday morning at Buluk Training Centre.

The 2022 African Nations Championship will be the 7th edition of the African Nations Championship. It is a football tournament organised by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) every two years, and it exclusively features players from various national championships.

The tournament will be held in Algeria. It was originally scheduled to be played from July 10  to  August 1, 2022.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, CAF announced on September 10, 2020, that the tournament had been rescheduled to January 2023, following the postponement of the 2020 African Nations Championship to 2021 and the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations to 2022.

It is only the competing national teams that must be composed of players playing in their domestic league.

This means that the South Sudan national team will only be represented by players playing for clubs in the local football premier league.

The South Sudanese 26-man squad for CHAN 2023 includes the following players:

Ramadan John Mayik – Malakia FC Juba, Khemis Daniel Dak, – Atlabara FC Juba, Emmanuel Abui Fiorino – Al Merriekh Juba, Rehan Angier Malong – Munuki FC Juba, Omot Sebit David – Unattached, Paul James – Malakia FC Juba, Omar John – Malakia FC Juba, William Gama Emmanuel – Malakia FC Juba, Bangazi Bakasoro – Kator FC Juba, Biko Joseph – Amarat United FC Juba, Deng Deng – Rainbow FC Juba, Stephen Pawaar Loli – Munuki FC Juba, Dusman Peter Amba – Munuki FC Juba, Dominic Angelo Kornelio – Munuki FC Juba, Aluk Akec Mabior – Unattached, Omar Luate Michael – Amarat United FC Juba, Chol Peter Bentiu – Kator FC Juba, Mutwakil Abdelkairm – Atlabara FC Juba, Anthony Madison – Atlabara FC Juba, Debbo Julius Moro – Malakia FC Juba, Sunday Peter Makoi – Atlabara FC Juba, Samuel Taban – Kator FC Juba, Joseph Kuch Nyuar – Munuki FC Juba, Michael Taku Taban – Malakia FC Juba, Joseph Malish – Kator FC Juba, and David Mangar Joseph from Amarat United FC Juba.